The College of Practical Nurses is evolving. New doors are opening, thanks to our steady focus on the future and continued commitment to patient care. The contributions of practical nurses and the CLPNA are increasingly recognized and valued. Our influence is growing, as is our goal: a transformed health system with LPNs recognized as integral partners in care.


Image description
L - R: Diane Larsen, LPN; Linda Coatsworth, LPN; Doris Kuelken, LPN; Dieda John, LPN, Vice President; Jo-Anne Macdonald-Watson, LPN, President; Linda Stanger, Executive Director/Registrar; Gary Christopherson, Public Member; Valerie Paice, LPN; Richelle Sutherland, LPN

Missing: Robyn Beaulieu, LPN


About the College

The College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta works for Albertans. As the regulatory organization for licensed practical nurses in Alberta, Canada, we exist to protect the public. CLPNA is governed by LPNs and by public members on behalf of the Minister of Health. The organization is supported through annual registration, examination and other regulatory fees.

CLPNA regulates our evolving profession to ensure the public receives safe, competent and ethical care from practical nurses. We do this through setting entry-to-practice requirements; enforcing standards of practice and a code of ethics; approving practical nurse education and specialty programs; managing registration, continuing competence, complaints and discipline. Under provincial regulation, persons who provide professional services to the public as an LPN must qualify and register with CLPNA.

Founded in 1985, CLPNA assumed regulatory responsibility for the profession in 1987 and legislation under Alberta’s Health Professions Act (HPA) since 2003. We have existed under our current name since 1998, though the profession can be traced back to Alberta’s Nursing Aides Act of 1947, and the development of the Certified Nursing Aide course.

Organizational Structure
About the Profession

LPNs are autonomous, professional nurses and trusted partners in healthcare. They practice evidence-informed nursing and use well-developed assessment and critical thinking skills to provide patient-focused care in collaboration with clients and other health professionals. LPNs formulate nursing diagnoses, plan interventions, provide health education and coaching, and increasingly excel in research, management and administration. LPNs are responsible and accountable for the decisions they make and while they usually work in teams, may assume independent, interdependent and overlapping roles on the healthcare team. The level of independence for an LPN in practice differs depending upon the needs and complexity of the client, skills of the LPN and the team and supports available in the setting.


The CLPNA is governed by its Council, comprised of eight elected licensed practical nurses, three members of the public appointed by the provincial government in accordance with the HPA, and the Executive Director/Registrar. The Council operates on a policy governance model to fulfill its obligations outlined in the HPA, Licensed Practical Nurses Profession Regulation (2003), and CLPNA Bylaws (June 2008).

As of June 2013, the CLPNA follows the Code of Ethics, Standards of Practice, Entry to Practice Competencies, and Requisite Skills and Abilities developed by the Canadian Council for Practical Nurse Regulators (CCPNR). These documents, along with all of CLPNA’s regulatory documents, can be found on CLPNA’s website, www.clpna.com, on the “Legislation, Practice & Policy” webpage or by request from CLPNA.


Committees are established to assist the CLPNA in their responsibilities under the Health Professions Act. They are comprised of regulated members appointed by Council, and Public Members appointed by the provincial government.


Education Standards Advisory Committee (ESAC)

ESAC establishes the Standard for Program Approval and monitors compliance for all basic and specialty education programs for practical nurses in Alberta.

  • D. Jean Valgardson, Chair
  • Mary Jean Andrada, LPN, LPN Representative
  • Lisa Birmingham, Employer
  • Representative
  • Joyce D’Andrea, Education Representative
  • Leona Ferguson, Employer Representative
  • Bruce Finkel, Ex-Officio Member Maureen McQueen, Education Representative
  • Karen Olson, LPN, LPN Representative
  • Violet Smith, Education Representative
  • Pam Lammiman, Former Chair (resigned May 2014)
  • Linda Stanger, CLPNA Representative
  • Teresa Bateman, CLPNA Representative
Hearing Tribunal (HT)

The HT makes findings and determines disciplinary action at professional conduct hearings under the Health Professions Act.

  • Kelly Annesty, LPN
  • Wanda Beaudoin, LPN
  • Danielle Canning, LPN
  • L. Jean Collins, LPN
  • Margaret Devlin, LPN
  • Crystal Genoway, LPN
  • Carol Hayley, LPN
  • Melanie Joyce, LPN
  • Dawne Knibbs, LPN
  • Larry Leduc, LPN
  • Sheana Mahlitz, LPN
  • Sylvia Morison, LPN
  • Beth (Haiav) Pounder, LPN
  • Kunal Sharma, LPN
  • Eryn Winfield, LPN
Complaint Review Committee (CRC)

The CRC reviews and ratifies settlements through alternative complaint resolution, and reviews any dismissal of complaints under the Health Professions Act.

  • Dawn Gillich, LPN
  • Gaylene (Mullett) Langejans, LPN
  • Ann Noseworthy, LPN
  • Michelle Tavenier, LPN
Public Members for Complaints

Public Members are appointed by the provincial government to sit on the Hearing Tribunal and Complaint Review Committee.

  • William Fayers
  • Lloyd Hickman
  • Peter Kawalilak
  • Jerry McKenna
  • Sandra Lynn Pichler
  • Brian Popp
  • Sheryl Prescott Paterson
  • Christine Silverburg
  • Dr. Geoffrey Tagg
  • Michael Tamtom
Council Appeals Committee (CAC)

The CAC makes findings and determines disciplinary action arising from an appeal of a Hearing Tribunal Decision under the Health Professions Act.

  • Jo-Anne Macdonald-Watson, LPN, Chair
  • Valerie Paice, LPN
  • Gary Christopherson, Public Member
Registration and Competence Committee (RCC)

The RCC’s primary responsibility is to guide and support the Continuing Competency Program. They also review and make decisions regarding registration and competence matters referred by the Executive Director/ Registrar under the Health Professions Act and the Bylaws.

  • Dianne Banks, LPN
  • Christine Buck, LPN
  • Sandra Davies, LPN
  • Cheryl Dell, LPN
  • Lorna Diprose, LPN
  • Jill Godin, LPN
  • Rebecca Gutsch, LPN
  • Ashley Holloway, LPN, Chair
  • Wendy Nelson, LPN
  • Jessie Poeter, LPN
  • Michelle Rose, LPN
  • Johanne Rousseau-Chicoine, LPN
  • Jamie Tanda, LPN